Mrs. Fried Chicken

15 Apr

Fried chicken you give me heart disease, but I need you in my kitchen.

Bust the windows out your car for some chicken

The best fried chicken in Toronto, by far,  has to be Chick-N-Joy. Too many times the smell has coaxed me in after work. I get off the streetcar and oh JOY! Fry me up some chicken and fries – LOVE AT FIRST BITE. I’m lucky enough to have this bad boy right at the end of my street.


Chick-N-Joy has been serving loyal customers in Leslieville since 1977. Back in the day the fry shack was known for their “Famous Hamburgers”, as well as fish ‘n chips – but ironically a few years ago, owner Johnny suffered a heart attack. Thus why the menu is now just fried chicken – less work for Johnny.

Always fresh, Maple Leaf delivers never frozen, chicken pieces every second day and the potatoes are hand peeled and cut!

My only vice, I wish the place stayed open later. Chick-N-Joy would make for a perfect hang-over cure!

Hours:
Monday to Saturday 11AM to 8PM
Sunday 12PM to 6PM

Location: 1483 Queen Street East. (Queen and Coxwell)

*Photography from Blog.TO’s Dawn Becker.

Leave a Reply

